top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris Anderson

Proactive Training Services / Be a Lifeguard

NATIONAL POOL LIFEGUARD QUALIFICATION (NPLQ) Proactive Training Services are an approved training provider of the Royal Lifesaving Society RLSS

Through IQL UK, the leading provider of lifeguard training, there are more than 90,000 RLSS UK pool lifeguards trained in the National Pool Lifeguard Qualification (NPLQ). IQL UK is the awarding organisation.

What’s being a lifeguard like?

Lifeguards benefit from varied working hours which you can easily fit around your other commitments, working within a team and there’s also the opportunity to progress your career within the leisure industry as most leisure managers start off as Pool Lifeguards.

There is the option to obtain additional qualifications during an NPLQ course, these will include additional hours:

Emergency First Aid at work Certificate ( EFAW )

First Aid at Work Certificate ( FAW )

Automated External Defibrillator ( AED )

Management of Anaphylaxis


Excellent starting point for a career in the leisure industry

Opportunity for career progression, as most leisure managers start off as Pool Lifeguards

Varied working hours

Work within a team

The NPLQ is recognised around the world, so potential to work and travel

Great way for students to fund studies

Learn essential life skills, including First Aid and CPR

How do I become a lifeguard?

Lifeguard Course Prerequisites  

Every candidate attending a NPLQ course must be 16-years-old at the time of taking the NPLQ final assessment and be able to:

Jump / dive into deep water

Swim 50 metres in less than 60 seconds

Swim 100 metres continuously on front and back in deep water

Tread water for 30 seconds

Surface dive to the floor of the pool

Climb out unaided without ladder/steps and where the pool design permits

Course content

The NPLQ covers all elements of Pool Rescue Techniques, Lifeguarding Theory, First Aid and CPR. The course is physically demanding and will include swimming to set times, lifting casualties and diving to the deepest part of the swimming pool. Training and assessment for the NPLQ is in three sections and all must be successfully passed to attain the qualification.

Section 1 – The Lifeguard and the Law, Swimming Pool Supervision

Element 1 – The Lifeguard and the Law

Element 2 – Swimming Pool, Hazards and Control Measures

Element 3 – Swimming Pool Supervision

Section 2 – Intervention and Rescue and Emergency Action Plans

Element 1 – Intervention and Rescue

Element 2 – Rescue of a Casualty with a Suspected Spinal Injury

Element 3 – Emergency Action Plan

Section 3 – Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation, AED and First Aid

Element 1 – Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)

Element 2 – First Aid

Element 3 – Automated External Defibrillation (AED)

About the assessment

Assessment for the NPLQ takes place at the end of the course. It determines your knowledge and understanding of the principles of working as a pool lifeguard and assesses your ability to apply the skills and knowledge in a work-related environment.

The assessment is split into three sections:

Practical pool assessment

Theory Assessment for all 3 sections

Practical First Aid & CPR assessment

59 views0 comments


bottom of page